Gardening for the Heart and Soul – Part 1

Image

The Staging Area

                Since returning from serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer last fall I have been floundering, lost, and to be honest scared. I did not know which direction to take my life in. I was intimidated by so many things that had never scared me before and I lost my self-confidence and spirit along the way. Part of my soul was awakened last February on a dive trip to Turks and Caicos, but I was still lost in where to go next. It has only been in the last week or so that I have begun to have a sense of direction, a rebirth of imagination and inspiration, a taste of destiny. I’m not sure if I am just finally ready, or if the spring weather after our long winter from hell did the trick, but the blood is flowing and my mind is churning. I have decided that as I craft this next part of my life I need a focus, a project, a goal to work on. I am a being that loves adventure, but I also love to balance my adventures out with a life that is also full of peace, love, and harmony. I have also always loved having a garden; working the damp soil with my bare hands, watching plants sprouts and take bloom has always spoken to my heart. I have not had the chance to garden in 10 years. I am no master at it, but simply love the process. The 2nd reason I have decided to have a garden and a blog about my progress with it is that I LOVE to cook. I am usually happiest when in the kitchen. I love to create and I am passionate about delectable food. Good food starts with good ingredients. This summer I want to have the chance to cook food that I have personally watched go from seedling to table.

                My first step into the venture was a trip to Menards. I needed to get the supplies for my garden. I decided that I was going to do a 10 x 8 plot in the back yard as well as starting an Herb Garden in pots so that it could be brought in next fall. I was fortunate to have the pots given to me by a good friend who didn’t need them anymore and Menards provided everything else. I almost giggled in the store, I needed everything from seeds, rakes, a hoe, rabbit fencing, potting soil, and a few starter plants. I was lost when I first walked into the store and didn’t even know where to start. Luckily I was helped by a very nice older gentleman who pointed me in the right direction for everything. The last time I had a garden was when I was 17 and I used everything, including the garden plot, from my neighbor who was also the amazing woman who taught me to garden in the first place. I think that it is about time that I did some root growing of my own, even if I decide to transplant them someday.

Image

The 1st Menards cart:)

                My second stop was to Shady Acres www.shadyacres.com , a small family run herb farm out in Chaska, about 20 minutes from my house. I will admit my knowledge of gardening is not great and there are some things like rosemary that I have never succeeded at growing from seed and while I am going to try I was going to get some starter herbs to begin with. The farm was just lovely and the staff was very helpful. I also found a number of unique herbs such as chocolate mint, orange mint, and about 15 different varieties of basil. I walked out with a full load and was so glad I made the trip out.

Image

The beginning to the Herb Garden:)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                Sunday afternoon, the first warm day in about a week, after 2 major snow storms in May, I began planning the Herb pots since they could be taken in at night. It felt so wonderful to get my hands in the dirt again and to be sowing seeds and planting roots. Listening to the birds sing, as well as to Josh Groban I watched the first part of my garden begin to take form. Joy radiated from me and into my work. Something that I hadn’t experienced in so long. One of the things that I learned in Peace Corps was taking pleasure from simple things. This is something I want to get back to. Right now my life is so busy and so crazy that I forget about the simple pleasure in life. I believe that this project will allow me to begin doing this. Till next time, Love Tammy

Categories: Cooking, Food, and Wine! | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The HANGAR | Gallery & Arts Initiative

Welcome to the official blog and media hub for The HANGAR | Gallery & Arts Initiative. Located in the Wynwood Arts District, The Hangar is dedicated to the collective movement of creative exhibition and seeks to open the lines of communication between artist, patron and community. www.hangargallery.com

Thezenoptimist

Homesteading, survivalism, cooking, canning, and sometimes massage therapy.

Peace Corps Cooking

Authentic Dishes From Around the World

Tammy's Tales

Living life's beautiful adventure and connecting to world in which we live.

Live and Lead

What does "Legacy" mean to you?

writes4food

recipes and wisdom from a Midwestern kitchen

floraafficinado

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Nicaragua

Living life's beautiful adventure and connecting to world in which we live.

Finger Family On Youtube

Living life's beautiful adventure and connecting to world in which we live.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.